Monday, July 6, 2009

A Fine Frenzy previews new single, "Blow Away," on Myspace

For those of you who heard A Fine Frenzy's debut album several years ago, One Cell in the Sea, new music from promising singer/songwriter Alison Sudol should be great news indeed. Sudol's fine voice, piano skills, and songwriting ability are all still in play here, but "Blow Away" is a louder, more rambunctious affair that can be found on most of her debut. The song is the first single from her upcoming album, A Bomb in a Birdcage, which will be release on September 18th and which Alison promises is something of a new direction for A Fine Frenzy. In her own words:

"I think some people may be surprised. They think that I’m all fragile and ethereal—and that’s lovely, it’s flattering. It's all I've really let anyone see, up to this point. But I have a wild side too. I like to bang on things and cause a ruckus every now and then. I’m a quiet person with a loud streak. I like both. This record is a testament to that.”

Sounds great to me; check it out for yourself on MySpace.

Track list for A Bomb in a Birdcage:

1. Wouldn't Do
2. New Heights
3. Electric Twist
4. Blow Away
5. Happier
6. Swan Song
7. Elements
8. World Without
9. Bird Of The Summer
10. Stood Up
11. Beacon