Friday, January 23, 2009

Blackout Beach - Album Details/MP3 Download

Blackout Beach is the most recent recording name for former Frog Eyes frontman Carey Mercer. He recently released his second album called Skin of Evil on January 20th which tells the story of a woman named Donna through the eyes of her past and present lovers (Donna gets a cut too, of course). The concept is difficult to dig out of Mercer's bizarre, complex arrangements and obtuse lyrics that keep the album both intriguing and exciting. The music was composed, played, and recorded entirely by Mercer alone, but includes more layers of sound than you might expect one man could possibly make.

Blackout Beach is offering a free song over at RCRD LBL entitled "Nineteen, One God, One Dull Star" that showcases Mercer's shifting, evolving song structures and intense vocal style. The page also has two other tracks available to stream from the upcoming album.

"Nineteen, One God, One Dull Star" download page

Track list for Skin of Evil:

01. Cloud of Evil
02. Biloxi, In a Grove, Cleans Out His Eyes
03. William, the Crowd, It's William
04. The Roman
05. Woe to the Minds of Soft Men
06. The Whistle
07. Nineteen, One God, One Dull Star
08. Three Men Drown in the River
09. Sophia, Donna, I Was Down the River Waiting
10. Astoria, Menthol Lite, Hilltop, Wave of Evil, 1982