Monday, March 2, 2009

Balmorhea to release new LP, 'All Is Wild, All Is Silent'

Austin-based instrumental collective Balmorhea is set to release their third album, All Is Wild, All Is Silent, next week. The band, founded by Rob Lowe and Michael Muller, now includes six members blending classical influences with a very modern indie rock sound. The expressive compositions and complex arrangements are intriguing to me in a way that instrumental music usually is not. You can hear for yourself by downloading the track "Harm & Boon," an expansive track that swells from an intimate piano line into a thundering crash of guitar, drums, and strings.

Harm & Boon

Track list:

1. Settler
2. March 4, 1831
3. Harm and Boon
4. Elegy
5. Remembrance
6. Coahuila
7. Night In the Draw
8. Truth
9. November 1, 1832