Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Papercuts offer free MP3 from new album

Jason Quever, the artist known as Papercuts, will be releasing his new album, You Can Have What You Want, on April 14. The record will be a follow-up to his acclaimed 2007 effort, Can't Go Back, which brought the following praise from Pitchfork, "It takes a few seconds of Papercuts' second album, Can't Go Back, to think that maybe you've stumbled upon something special, a delicate mood piece made to slice through the din and chaos of modern life."

You can download "Future Primitive" from the upcoming album below. The track is a ear-pleasing update of vintage pop, with hazy vocals and guitars fighting their way through a booming drum/bass rhythm. If this is a good indication of what we can expect from You Can Have What You Want, then you won't want to miss out.

Future Primitive (MP3)

Track list:

01 Once We Walked In The Sunlight
02 A Dictator's Lament
03 The Machine Will Tell Us So
04 A Peculiar Hallelujah
05 Jet Plane
06 Dead Love
07 Future Primitive
08 You Can Have What You Want
09 The Void
10 The Wolf